World Floorball Championships 2016: All you need to know

In less than two months the Men’s World Floorball Championships (WFC) will start. FloorballToday will provide you with all necessary information, starting: today!

Sixteen men’s teams compete in this year’s WFC. The strongest teams (based on the ranking) have been put in group A and B. Group D has the weakest teams – but they might surprise.

Group A: Finland, Switzerland, Germany, Estonia
Group B: Sweden, Czech Republic, Latvia, Norway
Group C: Slovakia, Denmark, Poland, Australia
Group D: USA, Canada, Singapore, Thailand

Match schedule
All teams play against the other teams from their group once (single round-robin). After that, the ranking in each group decides your next opponent and the tournament will turn into a knockout system, meaning a team will directly be eliminated after losing a game.

The best two teams of group A and B – which include world’s top teams – move directly into the quarter-finals, while the numbers 3 and 4 will battle the numbers 1 and 2 of Group C and D. The teams that finish 3rd and 4th in group C and D will not enter the play-off rounds, but will play to decide their finishing positions (#13-16).

The full schedule can be found here. Note: because of the way the tournament has been shaped many games will be worth-watching (not only the quarter finals and higher, but group matches already).

Tickets and location
The WFC will be played in two halls in Riga, Latvia: Arena Riga and Olympic Sports Centre Elektrum. Tickets can be bought online.

(Source: IFF WFC)
FloorballToday needs your support. Please consider donation a small monthly donation to make our website possible.
Comments to: World Floorball Championships 2016: All you need to know

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Support us and receive access to all our content!

    One-time donation

    Appreciate what we do? Consider a one-time donation

    Latest Patron Only articles